Detailed view:
ECOWAS Parliament
Title: ECOWAS Parliament
Creator: Economic Community of West African States
Abstract: The ECOWAS Parliament has 115 seats, which are distributed among the 15 ECOWAS Member States on the basis of their population. Nigeria, which has by far the largest population, has 35 seats while the least populated, such as Togo and Gambia, have 5 seats each. The Parliament’s political organs are the plenary, the Bureau, the Conference of Bureaux and the parliamentary standing committees. A General Secretariat, under the authority of the Speaker of Parliament, is responsible for the administration of Parliament. [according to site editor's information]
Keywords: Regional political integration (international); Parliaments; West Africa
Countries: Western Africa. General Resources
Subject areas: Politics » Generalities
Resource type: Parliaments;
International and supranational Organisations
Language: English; French; Portuguese
© Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Afrika (ilissAfrica)
 Print window Close window