Detailed view:
West African Economic and Monetary Union
Title: West African Economic and Monetary Union
Creator: Commission de l'UEMOA
Abstract: The West African Monetary and Economic Union (also known under the French acronym, UEMOA) was established with the Treaty signed in Dakar on 10 January, 1994 by the Heads of State and Government of seven West African countries using the CFA Franc in common. The Member States - today, there are eight members - are Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo and Guinea Bissau, which joined the Union in 1997. UEMOA is represented by a logo that symbolizes growth, union, solidarity and complementarity between the Coastal and Sahel States.
Keywords: international relations; economic cooperation
Countries: Benin;
Burkina Faso;
Ivory Coast;
Subject areas: Politics » International Relations;
Economy » Development Policy & Poverty;
Economy » Economic Relations
Location of the site's editor: Burkina Faso
Resource type: Governments, Governmental Departments and Public Administration;
International and supranational Organisations
Language: English; Spanish; French; Portuguese
© Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Afrika (ilissAfrica)
 Print window Close window