About the project

The internet library sub-Saharan Africa (ilissAfrica) is a portal that offers an integrated access to relevant scientific conventional and digital information resources on the sub-Saharan Africa region. Information scattered on private or institutional websites, databases or library catalogues is brought together in order to facilitate research. Without ilissAfrica this information has to be collected in a laborious and time-consuming process.

ilissAfrica allows simultaneous searching ("General search") in the following electronic resources:

Furthermore an Africa Section of the Electronic Journals Library (EZB) to search E-Journals is provided.

Since 2016, the University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt on the Main has been in charge of the African Studies Information Service. ilissAfrica was continued as the portal for this service.

ilissAfrica was originally established as a Virtual Library by the University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt on the Main in cooperation with the GIGA Information Centre: Africa Library in Hamburg. Both institutions were in charge of the DFG Special Collections on sub-Saharan Africa.

The project was financed by the DFG.

ilissAfrica supports the association "European Librarians in African Studies" (ELIAS) as a european network aiming to promote professional exchange and cooperation among its members. The "Africa Section" of the Electronic Journals Library (EZB) was one source for the Wikipedia-article "African Studies Journals".

Partners:

ASC_Leiden
NAI_Uppsala
IFEAS_Mainz
WAO-LOGO
OLC
BASE
ALS
webis
Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt/Main | Imprint

Über das Projekt

Die internet library sub-saharan Africa (ilissAfrica) ist ein Portal, das einen integrierten Zugriff auf wissenschaftlich relevante konventionelle und digitale Informationsressourcen zur Region Afrika südlich der Sahara bietet. Die Informationen, die auf privaten oder institutionellen Webseiten, Datenbanken oder Bibliothekskatalogen verstreut liegen und die man sich mühsam selbst zusammensuchen muss, werden auf dem Portal ilissAfrica für die Recherche zusammengeführt.

ilissAfrica ermöglicht zur Zeit die gleichzeitige Recherche ("Allgemeine Suche") in folgenden elektronischen Ressourcen:

Außerdem wird ein Afrika-Ausschnitt aus der Elektronischen Zeitschriftendatenbank (EZB) zur Recherche elektronischer Zeitschriften gebildet.

Die Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt am Main betreut seit 2016 den Fachinformationsdienst Afrikastudien. Als Portal wurde hierfür IlissAfrica weitergeführt.

ilissAfrica wurde ursprünglich als virtuelle Fachbibliothek von der Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt am Main in Zusammenarbeit mit dem GIGA Informationszentrum: Fachbibliothek Afrika in Hamburg aufgebaut. Beide Institutionen betreuten die DFG-Sondersammelgebiete „Afrika südlich der Sahara“.

Finanziert wurde der Aufbau durch die DFG.

ilissAfrica unterstützt aktiv den Verband "European Librarians in African Studies" (ELIAS) als Netzwerk für einen regelmäßigen fachlichen Austausch und für Kooperationen auf europäischer Ebene. Der Afrika-Ausschnitt der EZB war beispielsweise eine Grundlage für das Kooperationsprojekt "African Studies Journals" in der englischsprachigen Wikipedia.

Wir danken den folgenden Kooperationspartnern:

ASC_Leiden
NAI_Uppsala
IFEAS_Mainz
WAO-LOGO
OLC
BASE
ALS
webis
Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt/Main | Impressum